Papier Mache Kab’ah

This project started out as part of our ‘Focus on Hajj’ theme at our local Home-school group. For a few weeks I saved a number of cereal boxes and the day before we met for the group I taped the boxes together to form a large cuboid. I used 10 boxes altogether.

On the day I prepared some papier mache paste and cut some newspapers into strips ready for the kid to start the first stage of making a papier mache model of the Kab’ah.

The kids from the home-school group worked together to paste strips of newspaper all over the cardboard boxes, covering it with a few layers of paper. At the end of the day I took it home to let it dry until the next session. When I took it back next time it looked like this:

During the next session we let the kids loose with black poster paint, painting the model until it was black all over.

At the end of the session I took the model home to finish drying. Unfortunately it happened that the home-school group had to break up for the holidays, so I let my two older kids finish the model at home.

They decorated it using gold glitter while I printed out images of the Kab’ah door and the Hajr al Aswad (the Black Stone) for them to paste on.

Published in: on August 22, 2010 at 18:47  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://imanbendjedidi.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/papier-mache-kabah/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

